Neath Former Players

The Neath RFC Former Players’ Association was originally founded in 1971 ahead of the Neath Club becoming the first of the senior Welsh clubs to mark its centenary in 1971/72.

Legendary Neath, Wales and British Lions forward Rees Stephens was the driving force and chairman, David T. Meredith was secretary and Ron Davies was treasurer and the Committee comprised : Cyril Challinor, John Dodd, Charles Harris, Roy John, T.O. Jones, Harold Powell, Cecil Roberts, Rhys Thomas and Ron Waldron.

The original association fell away but in 2007 a small group of five got together to revive it with Brian Thomas (President), Ron Waldron (Chairman), David Parker (Vice-Chairman), Mike Thomas (Secretary) and Mike Price (Treasurer).

The aims of the Neath Former Players are :-

  • to provide a means of re-uniting former team-mates and officers of the Club
  • to help promote and foster the game of rugby at Neath RFC and in the surrounding area
  • to renew friendships and memories with their colleagues
  • to encourage current players

FP’s membership costs just £5 per annum which basically covers administration costs and the early-season buffet costs. Membership numbers are currently over three figures.

Being a member enables us to gather regularly to meet past and current players and officers and to share and pass on memories and experiences.

Ron Waldron has succeeded Brian Thomas as President and the current FP’s management includes : Martyn Morris (Chairman), Steve Martin (Vice Chairman), Alun Roper (Secretary) and Mike Price (Treasurer) while David Parker can be replied upon to compere the Annual Dinner.

For former Neath players who are not yet members, just remember the great days you enjoyed playing for Neath RFC and come and join us.

The Neath FP’s are very active with a regular annual calendar which involves :-

  • early-season Buffet prior to a Neath RFC home game
  • Festive get-together prior to a Neath RFC’s fixture
  • Annual Dinner with Guest Speaker

Previous Dinner speakers include Steve Fenwick, Alex Murphy, Phil Steele, Brynmor Williams, David Watkins, Gerald Davies, Paul Thorburn, Shane Williams and Richard Webster.

The 2017/18 Annual Dinner will be held at the Neath RFC Clubhouse on Friday, 2nd March.


Should you be a former Neath RFC player or know of a former player who wishes to become a member of the FP’s (it does not matter how many games you played), please contact :-

Alun Roper,
Wenham Place,

E-Mail –
Telephone – Neath (01639) 633356

OR see any of the Officers above

2017/18 CALENDAR 

Annual Buffet Lunch – Saturday, September 23rd 2017(1.00pm) – at Neath RFC
Meet in downstairs back bar prior to Neath v Llanelli

New Year Get-Together – Saturday, January 6th, 2018 (1.00pm) – at Neath RFC
Meet in upstairs back bar prior to Neath v Cardiff

Annual Dinner – Friday, March 2nd, 2018 (7pm) at Neath RFC

The Annual Dinner of the Neath Former Players will be held at the Gnoll Clubhouse on Friday, March 2nd (7.00 for 7.30pm).

Guest Speaker will be former Wales, Ospreys, Newport and Pontypridd lock IAN GOUGH with comedian Kevin Kaye providing support.

Former Players and Neath RFC supporters are invited – tickets (£20) are available from Mr. ALUN ROPER – Tel. Neath (01639.633356) or E-Mail: